10 comments on “How I Make Panoramas

  1. Thanks for the post! I have Photoshop and Lightroom, but I have never heard of DXO or Nik before. How do you use those programs? Do you have a “before” image of your panorama above you could share?

    • Hey paul not to barge in on Tau’s space but they are plug-ins for Photoshop and Lightroom, basically another editing program. If you like black and white photography Nik Silver EFX is almost a must have, well in that is in my opinion

      • Barge in any time. True, most of what you can do with DXO and the Nik tools can also be done with Photoshop and Lightroom plugins – I just like the results I get from DXO and Nik better. And I would agree that Nik’s Silver Efex Pro is the best black and white tool I have ever used – use it for all of the images here.

        To Paul’s question – both DXO and Nik have sets of photo editing tools that integrate with Photoshop and Lightroom. DXO does an outstanding job of correcting the distortion inherent in photos – it applies a profile specific to the camera and lens combination you are using to let you start with a very clean and distortion free image. The Nik tools are great for tweaking colors, black and white conversions, creating HDR (high dynamic range) images, and it has the best noise reduction tool I have found to date.

      • Funny timing, I’m on DXO’s website downloading a trial version right now. For what it’s worth you really inspired my creativity with this post and my post tomorrow has a couple of links to you. Thanks Mike for inspiration!!!!

  2. Thanks for posting this, I had forgot all about ICE, after reading this I used it this morning. This really inspired my stagnant mind

  3. Pingback: First Stitches | badsphotoblog

  4. Pingback: Panoramic Stream | badsphotoblog

Leave a Reply

