7 comments on “Another Moon Shot

    • Settings were ISO 400, 1/250 second, f/5.6. No filters on the lens.

      I’m hoping for clear skies here on the 19th! Hope you get a good shot.

  1. Thanks Mike. Where is “Here?”
    White balance auto? Any other set up info? Just purchased the D7000 a few days ago and haven’t set up all the menu items yet.

    How do you like yours? Any wisdom to impart?
    Thanks.

    • I’m in the Seattle area.

      White balance was set to auto. I was shooting in Manual mode but the only settings I changed were aperture and shutter speed. Remember to turn the VR on the lens off. I didn’t have the remote with me so I used the 2 second shutter delay to take the shot.

      Other suggestions – in addition to shooting in Manual mode I would also try some bracket sets. Aperture priority is probably best there but I might try a set in shutter priority as well. That way you might get a better single shot or come up with a good image by combining exposures.

      I love the D7000. I don’t have a single negative thing to say about it – it has been a joy to shoot with and I have been very pleased with the results. If you look around my site here and my Flickr photostream – http://www.flickr.com/photos/mikerobpix/ – probably 95% of the shots were done with the combination of the D7000 and the 18-200 lens.

      • Thanks. I am in Southern Oregon where the skies tend to be less cloudy. Here’s hoping for the 19th.

        I used a D200 for years and never complained. The D7000 is such a step up. I look forward to your super-moon shots.

        Why turn of the VR?

      • Lenses with stabilization features (including Nikon VR) can have issues with long exposures. The stabilization system appears to get confused and it tries to compensate for camera shake that is not there, resulting in some image quality problems. It probably would not be an issue for your moon shoot since your exposure will be somewhere around 1/250, but it is a good habit to get into when you’re shooting from a tripod at night.

  2. Set your camera to Manual, ISO 200 and choose f11 or f16 as your aperture with a shutter speed of something like 125th or maybe 160th of a second… Experiment within those parameters and you’ll get some cool results (aka bracketing). Remember, you’re basically shooting a light source! Cheers!

Leave a comment